You are here: Home // Guide & Standards // Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL)

Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL)

The Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) is a set of concepts and practices for Information Technology Services Management (ITSM), Information Technology (IT) development and IT operations.

ITIL gives detailed descriptions of a number of important IT practices and provides comprehensive checklists, tasks and procedures that any IT organization can tailor to its needs. ITIL is published in a series of books, each of which covers an IT management topic. The names ITIL and IT Infrastructure Library are registered trademarks of the United Kingdom’s Office of Government Commerce (OGC).

Overview of the ITIL v2 library

The eight ITIL version 2 books and their disciplines are:

The IT Service Management sets

  1. Service Support
  2. Service Delivery

Other operational guidance

  1. ICT Infrastructure Management
  2. Security Management
  3. The Business Perspective
  4. Application Management
  5. Software Asset Management

To assist with the implementation of ITIL practices a further book was published (Apr 9, 2002) providing guidance on implementation (mainly of Service Management):

  1. Planning to Implement Service Management

And this has more recently (Jan 26, 2006) been supplemented with guidelines for smaller IT units, not included in the original eight publications:

  1. ITIL Small-Scale Implementation

Overview of the ITIL v3 library

ITIL v3 is an extension of ITIL v2 and does not replace it. The two publications should therefore not be considered in isolation. ITIL v3 provides a more holistic perspective on the full life cycle of services, covering the entire IT organization and all supporting components needed to deliver services to the customer, whereas v2 focused on specific activities directly related to service delivery and support. Most of the v2 activities remained untouched in v3, but some significant changes in terminology were introduced in order to facilitate the expansion.

Five volumes comprise the ITIL v3, published in May 2007:

  1. ITIL Service Strategy
  2. ITIL Service Design
  3. ITIL Service Transition
  4. ITIL Service Operation
  5. ITIL Continual Service Improvement

Now updated in line with the new 2009 syllabus, this reference revision guide,ITIL V3 Foundation Handbook – Pocketbook from the Official Publisher of ITIL – Single Copy has been designed to help students sitting the ITIL V3 Foundation Exam. The title provides a key reference aid for managers, practitioners, vendors and consultants in the workplace and while travelling. This publication provides an introduction to the ITIL V3 Service Lifecycle model and an overview of the ITIL V3 qualification structure. The guide contains a chapter on each of the components of the Lifecycle; Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operation and Continual Service Improvement. These chapters contain an overview of each of the process and functions in the lifecycle including value, scope, activities and metrics.


Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2010-2012 Home of Project Manager. All rights reserved.
Focus on project management. Powered by MyPmHome Team.